Swedish Embassy cooperation behind Bosnian and Herzegovinian Golden Chair-winner

Published 20 November 2015 in:

It started with the promotion of Swedish design in Sarajevo through the project “Brilliant” which later launched a unique cooperation between Swedish designers and Bosnian and Herzegovinian handicraft resulting in several awards; the latest “The Golden Chair”.

Throughout the journey from Rukotvorine furniture company (the former name of the company) to its more modern incarnation Zanat the Swedish Embassy in Bosnia and Hercegovina has seen the potential of the synergies in Swedish design and BiH traditions also for job creation and economic development in Bosnia and Hercegovina. This as well as promotion of Swedish design and CSR abroad. Rukotvorine/ Zanat, has therefore received several grants from different Swedish Embassy development cooperation projects, such as the “The Challenge Fund” and “Fostering Interventions for Rapid Marked Advancement” (FIRMA).

The motivation for the Challenge grant reads as follows:

“The company has managed to maintain the cultural heritage of BiH by creating a synergy between traditional craftsmanship and modern design. Rukotvorine’s innovative concepts have inspired Scandinavian designers to collaborate with them to create unique pieces of furniture. Not only does Rukotvorine offer novel furniture with high quality and competitive prices but they also facilitate sustainable economic development by endorsing CSR and environmental sustainability. The project will result in a new market segment, as it targets the medium-high end segment of European and US markets. This will further increase the company’s exports and thus result in several employment opportunities. The Challenge grant will enable Rukotvorine to create a venture within the furniture industry which has a considerable growth potential in BiH.”

Together with the designers Monica Förster and Gert Wingårdh from Sweden as well as Harri Koskinen from Finland, Zanat has met and exceeded these expectations. Warm congratulations for the “Golden Chair Award”!